Harry Potter 1-8

By J. K Rowling (and a few others for that last part)

Having grown up in a world of Muggles, Harry is surprised to discover, upon receiving an invitation to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry on his 11th birthday, that he is actually a wizard. Not only is he a wizard, but he is perhaps one of the most well-known wizards of his time, his fame being rivaled only by that of his equally notorious enemy, Voldemort. Early in his time at Hogwarts, Harry develops close friendships with Ron, whose antics lead them time and again into trouble and danger, and Hermione, who time and again helps Harry and Ron evade peril with her knowledge and cleverness. As Harry grows up, he is pursued more ardently by Voldemort, the most powerful Dark wizard of all time, who wishes to destroy Harry the way he intended when Harry was only a baby. Over the years, Voldemort grows stronger, garnering more support, while those that oppose him also grow in number. Harry ultimately vanquishes Voldemort in a final duel during the Battle of Hogwarts, restoring peace to the wizarding world. Or so it seems. 19 years later, he feels familiar prickling in his scar, suggesting that powerful Dark magic is again afoot. In pursuit of peace both for the wizarding world and within his family, Harry searches frantically through time and alternate futures to maintain the present.

The “Harry Potter” series consists of seven canon novels and a new 8th script that debuted as a stage production. The stories mature in tandem with Harry’s growth throughout the series, and Rowling adds increasing complexity, depth, and nuance to characters and plotlines. Yet, Rowling also maintains a consistent tone throughout all seven canon novels, ensuring that no matter where the reader picks up the story, it is undoubtedly part of the Wizarding universe. The 8th script, of course, deviates from that pattern as it was written for all the visual features that go along with a stage production, but nevertheless adds to the overall storyline by delving into struggles that had never been addressed during their school years. Another significant shift in the 8th novel is that in addition to following the youthful adventures of Hogwarts students, readers are also introduced to the adult lives of wizards by following Harry and his friends through their professional and parental responsibilities. Overall, the 8 Harry Potter stories create an enchanting universe that mirrors the world of Muggles just enough to be familiar, and differs enough to keep readers dreaming.

Can I ever say enough about how much I love Harry Potter? Although I will say, I was struck by how starkly different the 8th story is in contrast to the original 7 novels when I read them all back to back to back. Yes, I knew it was different, but it is VERY different. But in the end, it’s all Harry Potter. If I love everything to do with Hogwarts, Dumbledore, and quidditch, I can love every part of the Harry Potter series. And you should too!


Leave a comment

Filed under Reading

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s